State Of The Goodreads Challenge Address

It’s time for my annual state of the goodreads reading challenge address. This has already been mentioned and debated over on Facebook, but far be it from me to not milk this into a blog post as well. The timing for this comes, of course, from me hitting my 150 book reading goal for the year.

Yes, I know this is obviously not what I’m reading for the year. Yes, 150. I know plenty of people who read more and I use this as what I feel based on my comfortable reading speed is a good minimum for the year. I average around 200-300 a year and when I hit my 150 minimum goal is a good indicator of what kind of reading year it will be.

For example, this year was 151 by July 31. This would tend to indicate a 250 book year as opposed to a 300 plus book year or a 200 or less book year.  I’d have needed to hit 150 by around the end of June to expect 300 or more, and think I can expect more than 200 or so given that it isn’t yet the end of August. Regardless, I’m about to hit several gigantic books, 600-800 pages or so, such as Seven Pillars of Wisdom by T. E. Lawrence, so things might slow down a little bit and nothing is sure yet anyway.

Is this important in the slightest? Nope! It just gives me something to talk about today. Now…back to reading….

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

