Why Do Articles Keep Saying Such and Such Just Destroyed Such And Such?

Here’s a thought: an article talking about someone taking someone else to task for something might not want to say that the first person “destroyed,” “obliterated” or anything else the second person unless the second person’s supporters would likely be convinced by the first person rather than only the first person’s followers. Just a thought.

I’m seeing almost one of these a day. Such and such just destroyed such as such. No, that isn’t what happened. Person One just delivered and indictment of Person Two that followers of Person One would find to have utterly destroyed Person Two whereas followers of Person Two would be utterly unconvinced. This is the way it always seems to be, yet the “destroyed” or such language keeps being used.

I just think “destroyed” should be saved for circumstances when even the “destroyed” person’s followers would have to agree with the person doing the “destroying.” Otherwise, no matter how possibly accurate, it’s basically just more wasted rhetoric. Those already convinced are still convinced and those opposed are no more convinced than they were before.

It all just seems like such garbage.

[END POINTLESS RANT]

Advertisements

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s