I’m Ignoring Any Goodreads Book Recommendations

Just so you know, recommending a book to me on Goodreads is a waste of your time. Pretty much regardless who it is, I’m going to access Goodreads just to get to my recommendations list and click ignore. It isn’t personal, but this is what is going to happen.

I read about 200-300 books per year. However, I seem to get more book recommendations than that. I can think of at least twenty book recommendations recently on Goodreads. Some people recommend multiple books to me a month. Some people recommend me their books despite having no other contact with me. It’s just overwhelming…particularly given that I’ve already got usually 45-60 books waiting on my actual to read list when they recommend (I don’t add to my to read shelf unless I have the book). When do they think I’ll get to the book they’re recommending?

Frankly, I’ve become so irritated with Goodreads book recommendations over the years because so many people send so many and so many are junk (and I don’t know how to turn them off, if there is even a way short of defriending everyone) that I just ignore them all categorically. All that happens is that I get irritated first.

Bottom line? If you want me to read a book don’t send me a Goodreads recommendation. I won’t follow up on it.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

