I Know That Submission Time Doesn’t Mean Anything

I know that this longer submission time doesn’t mean anything. I know this. I KNOW this. It does not mean that this place might actually be thinking more about this one.

We do this. We ALWAYS do this, looking for secret patterns. They just aren’t there.

Yes, I’ve been submitting to this place for years because I really want to get a story in there. Yes, they’ve never taken more than 3 days to reject and it’s already been a week. Though not much for other places, that’s a huge length of time for them. I keep thinking it means they’re really looking at this one and might take it…but it doesn’t. It means they haven’t gotten to it yet.

I mean, maybe they’re more backed up than they used to be. The same day rejections I used to get from them were lightning fast. Further, same day was a few years ago. Two day rejections were more recent, three day being the most recent still…and I haven’t submitted at all in a year and a half or two.

Surely their backlog has just gotten a little bigger, meaning a little more time in queue. Still way faster than most journals, but a bit slower than I’m used to for them. It doesn’t mean anything significant.

But I can’t stop thinking about it. I always do this. We all do.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

