Odd Feelings About Carnegie Deli

I’m feeling a little odd, having heard that Carnegie Deli is closing at the end of the year. It’s sad, but I keep reminding myself I’ve never been there.

I wanted to go. I’ve been to the Vegas location. When my wife and I went to New York, I tried. However, my wife was unwilling to wait in the line that stretch down the block for the place. We went to a different deli across the street instead, which was also pretty good. Then we tried again on a later New York trip, but my wife was unwilling again to wait in the still tremendously long line.

Now it looks like I won’t get back to New York before it closes.

Is it weird to be sad about the closing of a place I’ve never been? I’ve been outside. I’ve heard mentions of it throughout my life I’m sure. It’s an icon, part of my mental map of New York despite a huge amount of personal in person connection.

Still, it feels kind of weird to be sad about it since I’ve never gotten to eat there.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

