Someone Thinks I’m Much More Successful Than I Am

Someone thinks I’m much more successful than I am. Well, not really. They actually don’t think anything about me at all. Their prices are just way beyond what my success can justify.

I’m working on a trailer for my new novel, Apocalypse all the Time, which releases January 1, 2017 from Literary Wanderlust. For that, I came up with the idea of having a little 30 second animation. It wasn’t going to be the whole trailer, maybe 1/2-1/3. I wondered if anyone I knew did that kind of thing, but the person I hired for the trailer looked into it. The animator she contacted wanted $1000-$5000 for a thirty second stop-animation style bit that wasn’t much above stick figure level.

Someone has no idea how much money the average independent author makes off a book, or just isn’t in the market to serve that kind of demographic. $1000-$5000 for just the thirty second part of the book trailer, to say nothing of the trailer itself, the other marketing expenses, the other expenses that go into the book, and so on.

There are many expenses.

There’s just no way that such a thing could be part of promotion for the average book. Sales would need to be so huge to justify that kind of expense, I don’t know many authors who could find the budget for that. The sort who could have that kind of budget are probably authors I don’t personally know, and probably hire people to keep me away from them.

I think I’m going to go for a little more of the “me” feel, and perhaps a little of the “first grade craft time” kind of aesthetic. That may be more in my price range.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

