Banana Fritters Are Everywhere

Continuing with thoughts on Vietnam, I was thrilled to see a lot of street food in Hoi An. We were going to spend a few days there and I’d get to try a few things (focusing on things cooked right in front of me, as that is safest). Among the first things I saw were banana coconut batter fritters/pancakes, some kind of shrimp pancake thing, and some kind of doughnut thing.

street-food

Then I saw them again.

And again.

Eventually, I realized that almost every cart I was seeing was selling the same things. There was also some ice cream pop things, cooked pork on a stick, and mango/peanut dumpling things, but the way vast majority was a repeat of the above.

That was cool, because they were fun to try, but it was interesting that almost all the carts I ran across were selling the same items. I ran out of things I needed to try much sooner than I thought I would based on the amount of street food I thought I was seeing in various places throughout the area.

I guess I was just imaging there would be more variety.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banana Fritters Are Everywhere

Leave a Reply

