Vietnam Karaoke

We went out for karaoke our last night in Vietnam, and it was a little different than I expected. For one thing, you rented a private room for your party. This is quite a departure from the bar full of strangers that I’m used to. Of course, I meant that I was an observer like usual. I’ve only ever actually sung karaoke once, and this time I had just lost my voice due to a cold so I had an extra excuse.

karaoke

The songs were the really different part. They still had the songs I expected from American Karaoke bars: “Me and Bobby McGee,” “American Pie,” and so on. However, they weren’t the versions I was used to hearing. They were usually versions done by artists I wasn’t expecting, and way different on timing and such. Example? “American Pie” was the Madonna version instead of Don McLean.

Really? That was weird.

Oddest was the lyrics the machine spat out. I had to wonder about accuracy from time to time. I understand different versions and all, but I’m pretty sure the lyrics to the Spice Girl’s song “Wananbe” go “If you wanna be my lover, you gotta get with my friends” not “If you wanna be my lover, you gotta get rid of my friends” as printed out on the screen during our session. That kind of changes the meaning a bit. It certainly gave the people singing a bit of a pause.

I’m guessing the lyrics were input by someone somewhere who didn’t really know them. Given the change I cited above, it’s the only explanation I can think of. I can’t think the Spice Girls recorded a different version with lyrics THAT different.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

