Not My Best Goodreads Year, But Not My Worst Either

Well, I ended up reading 250 books in 2016. That was well above my 150 minimum Goodreads Reading Challenge goal, but still pretty short of previous years. It beat 2 of the last 6 years for number (225 in 2015, 303 in 2014, 313 in 2013, 247 in 2012, and 318 in 2011), but only beat least year for number of pages (59,334 versus 57391 compared to 86,091 in 2014, 87,303 in 2013, 73,553 in 2012, 89,820 and in 2011). Between actual number and page number (excepting out one I can’t enter yet and books that may not have bothered listing page numbers so Goodreads didn’t count them), it was still a slower reading year than normal.

So why less this year? Hard to say. Maybe I was spending more time writing or going to local events, or more time promoting my books. Not Quite so Stories released in 2016 and Apocalypse All the Time just released this year. That all takes time away from reading too, and is something I feel justified getting less reading time for. I also worked about 250-300 hours more this year than last, so that could be a factor (and a much less acceptable one at that).

Oh well, 250 is still fine. Maybe tomorrow I’ll actually share the actual books I read in 2016.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

