Who Gives Away A Late Book In A Series At A Convention?

I was at a convention last summer and was given a goodie bag as part of that. Included in the goodie bag were two books. One was fine, I read it and enjoyed it okay. The second was the fourth book in a series. What the heck was the convention thinking?

Seriously. Did they assume everyone at the convention had already read the first three books? (Nothing about the convention would in any way suggest everyone had.) Did they think everyone who hadn’t would run out and buy the first three and read them before reading the free one? Did anyone actually do that?

There’s no way I was not going to read a free book. I’m not much for the mainline fantasy market to begin with, and not series of any kind, but I still had the book and was going to read it. I guess it just meant I wasn’t going to enjoy it very much.

Was it one you could just walk into on the fourth book and be okay? I don’t know. I was lost, but was that because I hadn’t read the other books or because I didn’t like the book? It felt like the book was 99% concerned with spinning pretty fluff and 1% concerned with writing a book that was engaging on any other aspect other than the pretty fluff. I mean, this was as bad as having to sit and listen to someone going on and on at a ren fair who had no knowledge that no one was interested in a thing they said, deriving all enjoyment from just being able to talk. I’m not giving a damn about the book or the characters, nothing. How do I even review something like that, risking that it’s just because I wasn’t willing to go out and get and read three other books first?

Why would a convention give out something like that?

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

