My Poor Decision

I was just thinking of one of my poor decisions. I should have gotten the life jacket.

It’s not as bad as it sounds. We were vacationing last January in Playa Del Carmen and decided to take a day trip out to Chichen Itza, which included a visit to the Ik Kil cenote. The trip involved some poor choices already (an entire day of driving and other garbage they made us endure for like an hour at Chichen Itza and maybe a half hour swim at most at the Ik Kil cenote), so when we got to finally swim at the Ik Kil cenote I decided not to bother renting a life jacket.

This was the poor decision I’m referencing above.

Why need it? I can swim, right? Well, the cenote is between about 80 feet deep at its shallowest point, 130 feet at its deepest. The sides were pretty much entirely vertical. The platform they put at the pool you weren’t allowed to hang onto. That meant you pretty much had to swim the entire time you were in the water, absent managing to briefly cling to the wall, unless you were smart enough to rent the life jacket.

No one told you this ahead of time.

So, yeah. Didn’t perhaps get as much enjoyment there as I would have liked because I was too busy trying not to die. It was one of the coolest parts of our Mexico trip, but it would have been perhaps more enjoyable if I’d been smart enough to rent the life jacket so I could just float around…seeing as there was no where to rest until I got done swimming and got out. It would have really been a problem if the stupid tour company hadn’t wasted so much time that day that we got almost no time at the coolest part of the trip.

Just saying.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

