I’m Starting To Wonder If Drunk Shakespeare Is Only Tim Haber As Macbeth

I’m starting to wonder if Drunk Shakespeare is only Tim Haber as Macbeth.

Drunk Shakespeare is tons of fun. The idea is that a crew of actors get together, pick one to drink five shots (and more throughout the performance), and then put on a Shakespeare play. My wife and I went about two years ago and saw Tim Haber as drunk Macbeth (with a broken foot no less). It was a blast, great performances and very fluid and comedic. Drunk fun.

So my wife and I were going to be in Manhattan again recently and I wanted to go again. My wife had enjoyed herself, but wasn’t quite sure she wanted to do it again. I insisted. It would be different, I said. We’d get a different play, a different drunk. Then the performance started. They announced Tim Haber as the drunk. They announced the play as Macbeth.

Damn it.

Seriously, what are the odds? Two years later, a random performance, and we get the exact same play with the exact same drunk? Even if each play is only done by one drunk and they don’t quite mention that, surely they don’t just do Macbeth and don’t just have Tim Haber as the drunk.

My wife wasn’t exactly thrilled with me. It was still different because it was a different performance, and it was still an immense amount of fun, but what are the odds? I was really hoping for a different play and/or a different drunk. It’s really hard to believe we got the exact same play/drunk.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

