Maybe They Should Have Picked A Different Name

My wife and I were at the grocery store the other day and I saw a new product that really made me think someone should have chosen another name. It was Ripple, a milk substitute. Of course, I thought of Ripple, the cheap, fortified wine that was so iconic back in the 60s, 70s, and 80s. I do believe it was almost listed as a character on Sanford and Son due to the number of times it was referenced in the show, though I could be mistaken.

Is this really the name one should have chosen for a milk alternative that is supposed to be healthy? Healthy is its whole schtick. Do thoughts of cheap, fortified wine jibe with that? It was so iconic that I doubt that no one will remember. This seems like a bad idea to me.

As part of a discussion on this, Steven Dunn mentioned that Red Bull faced a similar situation, having first been a malt liquor before being an energy drink.

However, it does strike me that Red Bull is by no means supposed to be healthy. Further, it’s pretty heavily paired with alcohol too (Red Bull and vodka, Jägerbombs, and so on). I just don’t think the energy drink will hit the same issues from the malt liquor that a milk substitute would hit from a cheap, fortified wine.

Personally, I’d rather have the wine. (Yeah, I talked about this on Facebook already. Whatever.)

 

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

