I’m Uncertain How To Feel About The Toys”R”Us Bankruptcy

I’m uncertain how to feel about the Toys”R”Us bankruptcy. I suppose the potential loss of the icon from my childhood bothers me. It is just chapter 11 for the moment, so it’s not all done quite yet. I also can’t feel too bad if it goes because it needs to go. I guess I just don’t know how to feel.

I mean, I can remember one being around somewhat near my house since I was maybe 7 or 8 or so. It was the biggest toy store I knew of at the time, the dream. At the same time, I don’t think I went there very often. I spent more time in the toy aisle at Target. Toys”R”Us was perhaps to rich for my blood, or just a little too far. Maybe it was just that my parents didn’t often go there.

And I do have to think how much more disappointing it had seemed the last few times I went there. Perhaps it was just that I was older, but it didn’t seem the same as when I was a kid. I’d be much more concerned about losing what I remembered of the icon as a kid than what I remembered seeing the last time I went in one of their stores…and that was around 17 years ago at least. Obviously I only have so much of a reason to care…other than as a childhood icon.

But I’m rambling here. I don’t really have too much to say beyond what I said right off the bat and I just keep talking anyway. It just seems weird to imagine Toys”R”Us potentially gone, regardless whether or not I have any personal reason for it to still be here.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

