I Have To Apologize To The Rockies

It appears that I owe the Colorado Rockies an apology. I made a joke at their expense and I turned out to be wrong. I’ll be adult enough to admit that I owe them an apology. As such, Colorado Rockies, I am sorry.

You see, I was talking to a woman who rides the same train home I do on workdays. Since we ride part of the way together and get off at the same stop, we sometimes chat as the train arrives at the station. She happened to remark yesterday that she had not seen me the day before.

In fact, I had been there. Of course, so had about a bazillion screaming children. There had been some sort of youth group, chaperoned by a couple of young teachers, riding the train. I guessed they were on some kind of field trip and had decided to use the train instead of expending vast sums to rent a bus.

The woman I normally talk to explained that they had taken the kids to a Rockies game. Apparently she had talked to one of the teachers. She complained that she had asked one of the children what the score had been, and the child wasn’t even able to tell her which team had won. This disappointed her. She figured that if all this effort had been put forth to get all those kids to a game, the least they could have done was be aware of who won.

I decided to play smart. I said: “Oh, with the way the current season went you’d think the kid would have played the odds and guessed that the Rockies lost.” Turns out, the Rockies had actually won the game.

As such, though I still think my statement stands that it would have been a safe bet after the rest of this last season to guess that the Rockies would lose, I was wrong. I’m sorry, Rockies. I shouldn’t have doubted you and I owe you an apology.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment