Really? Smacking Rupert Murdoch In The Face With A Paper Plate Covered In Shaving Foam “is a far better thing…than [you] have ever done before?”

As excited as I normally am to see anybody using literary references, I have to say that I was a bit weirded out to see this article.  Apparently, Jonnie Marbles walked up and smacked Rupert Murdoch in the face with a paper plate of shaving foam as Murdock testified in front of a committee investigating the News International phone hacking scandal.

Now, of course I could care less whether somebody smacks Rupert Murdoch with shaving cream.  Hell, he pays people to do weirder shit than me.  What got me was the literary reference.  Apparently, immediately before Jonnie Marbles same at Murdoch with the plate of shaving cream, he tweeted: “It is a far better thing that I do now than I have ever done before #splat.”

Really?  Smacking Rupert Murdoch with a plate full of shaving cream is a far better thing than you have ever done before?  That’s it?  You haven’t done anything more worthwhile in your life than that?  God, you must suck.

Of course, the tweet was a reference to the point in Charles Dickens A Tale of Two Cities  where Sydney Carton willingly dies in place of Charles Darnay (or Charles St. Evrémonde) because Darnay is condemned to die and the woman Carton loves, Lucie Manette, loves Darnay and not Carton.  In my opinion it is perhaps one of the most emotional moments Charles Dickens ever created.  “It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.”

This is what Jonnie Marbles was comparing his actions to?  He compares hitting Rupert Murdoch with shaving cream to perhaps one of the most touching scenes in English literature?  I could care less about the phone hacking scandal (of which I know little) or hitting Rupert Murdoch with shaving cream, but I care about this.

So, Jonnie Marbles, though I commend you for being able to make a literary reference, I have to say that the one you chose doesn’t appeal to me much in this situation.  For one, lord help you if that is the best thing you’ve ever done.  For two, I don’t think this puts you anywhere near the class of Sydney Carton.  I’m sure I’m overreacting here, but that’s my reaction and I’m sticking to it.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Really? Smacking Rupert Murdoch In The Face With A Paper Plate Covered In Shaving Foam “is a far better thing…than [you] have ever done before?”

  1. hemp says:

    As the scandal hit media tycoon s Tuesdays parliamentary committee hearing was progressing a man calmly approached Murdoch and slapped a plate of shaving cream in his face and shouted You are a greedy billionaire. .

Leave a comment