My Wife Has Been Gone For Many Days. Have I Misbehaved Yet?

My wife has been gone for many days. She’s off vacationing in Europe and I couldn’t get away from work to go, even though flights were ridiculously cheap. I’ve been left on my own, as if I behave like an adult. She returns in a couple days, so the question arises…have I misbehaved?

It occurred to me after she left, my study is just below the spare bedroom upstairs. My study has ten foot floor to ceiling bookshelves. It’s the whole reason I wanted to get this house, to put those in. However, the spare bedroom is right above it. If I took out the floor, that would be at least nine feet additional the room would go up. Maybe ten, because of the floor. It’s spare, right? That means we don’t need it. All I’d have to do is take out the floor, extend the built in bookshelves up to the second floor ceiling, and I’d have a two-floor library with floor to ceiling bookshelves. I could even have a spiral staircase put in, or whatever. Think of all the books I could have then.

I mentioned this to my wife as a joke…but did I do it? My wife may have to wait until she comes home to find out.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Wife Has Been Gone For Many Days. Have I Misbehaved Yet?

  1. Jayne Martin says:

    Diabolical plotting, but I totally dig the idea. Especially the spiral staircase.

Leave a comment