Why Don’t We Already Have A Disaster Movie About Carmageddon?

Clearly someone in Hollywood isn’t doing their job.  I mean, why isn’t there already a disaster movie about Carmageddon in theaters?  Perhaps something starring Morgan Freeman or John Cusack.  Maybe even Charlie Sheen, since I imagine he could use something to do.  Frankly, I’m a bit disappointed.  I expect better than this.

Don’t we always get disaster movies about things we make a much bigger deal about than they end up being?  I’d mention 2012, but that one hasn’t been proved to be overblown yet.  Maybe the various Y2K scenarios are more relevant here right now.  Regardless, when we imagine disasters and way overreact, we’re supposed to get disaster movies.  Then, once we find out that the respective event wasn’t that big a deal, we can laugh at the movies.  I don’t see why we don’t have one for Carmageddon.

I thought maybe they just hadn’t had a chance to make the movie yet, but it’ll be too late now.  We already know that the LA freeway closure just isn’t that big a deal (see here).  Sure, it’s inconvenient and a big mess, but it just isn’t that huge.  This generated mass worry, but we already know that the mass worry was unnecessary.  It’s too late to make a movie to capitalize on that fear now.  It would be ridiculous.

So what is going on in Hollywood?  Is Rob Reiner sick?  Is M. Night Shyamalan on vacation?  Dammit, I deserved a panic disaster movie over this that I could laugh at later and I didn’t get it.  I feel cheated.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Don’t We Already Have A Disaster Movie About Carmageddon?

  1. I was once in a traffic jam so bad that people got out of their cars, sat on the hoods, opened their doors, cranked up the music and danced. Carmageddon
    the movie could start like that, then a raging Santa Ana. People get hot. Cranky. Murderous. The hot winds spark a wildfire. An inferno. Melted metal and bone. Rain puts the fires out. But the rain doesn’t stop. Mud sliding mayhem. Helicopters, police cars, low riders, bikinis. Mad Max meets Mullholland Drive.

Leave a comment