Are We Done With The Mayans Yet?

Are we done talking about the Mayans yet? Have we hit the point in 2012 where we think they said the world was going to end? I thought someone said that was supposed to have been pretty soon, but I can’t remember. I don’t know if we have to wait for 2012 to be over or not. I’m kind of hoping we’re done with this and can move on.

I’m not entirely sure on this because I haven’t checked. I heard about this, as one can’t have helped hearing (I tried), but I never investigated further. Really, I didn’t care too much. I had other things to do.

After all, given the history of these things (the recent Raptures, Y2K, Heaven’s Gate, and so on ad nauseum), I thought there was a pretty good chance nothing was going to happen. As a preliminary matter, I thought there was a good chance that we were misinterpreting what the Mayans had said and they hadn’t really predicted the end of the world at all. We tend to do that. Beyond that, even if the Mayans did predict the end of the world in 2012, it seemed like a significant chance that they were wrong. I’m sure they did stuff like that too.

Mind you, I didn’t want to be too arrogant about this. People predict the end of the world all the time, but I suppose somebody could be right someday. However, even if this were true and the world was going to end in 2012 as predicted by the Mayans…what the hell could I do about it?

That’s right, nothing. I couldn’t do anything about it if it was true…so I just didn’t worry about it.

Either way, has the date passed? Does anyone know? I’m just wondering if we’re done with the Mayans now and can move onto the next apocalypse scenario. I’m sure we’ve got one waiting in the wings.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are We Done With The Mayans Yet?

  1. December 21. Years ago, I read up on the prediction some. What I discovered in my limited research was that the Mayans were most likely not predicting the end of the world, but rather a new era in human existence. The 12/21 date is significant for some reason, but this change the Mayans predicted is to take place over years; in fact, we should be in it now. Reaching this new era will involve bloodshed and sacrifice, but not the destruction of the world. Interestingly, though rarely mentioned, texts from other cultures may have alluded to the significance of 2012 as well–I Ching comes to mind. Of course, it’s also possible the Mayan calendar maker just grew tired of making calendars and quit, and the silly humans have made a doomsday prophecy out of a lazy moment.

Leave a comment